California Department of Transportation
Coronado Bridge Carquinez Bridge San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge Richmond San Rafael Bridge

Materials Engineering and Testing Services

Office of Roadway Materials Testing

Asphalt Binder & Hot Mix Asphalt Laboratory
5900 Folsom Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95819

APPROVED SUPPLIERS

Caltrans Performance-Graded (PG) Asphalt Binder Types are:
      Non-Modified: PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, PG64-28, and PG70-10
      Modified: PG58-34 M, PG64-28 M, and PG76-22 M

Asphalt Supplier - Location

Binder Type

Approval Status

Non-Modified

Modified (M)

Albina Asphalt - Klamath Falls, OR
Keven Heitschmidt - (360) 816-8560
keven.heitschmidt@albina.com

PG64-10, PG64-16, PG64-28, & PG70-10

PG58-34M, &
PG64-28M

Current

Albina Asphalt - Madras, OR
Keven Heitschmidt - (360) 816-8560
keven.heitschmidt@albina.com

PG64-10, PG64-16, PG64-28, & PG70-10

PG58-34M, &
PG64-28M

Pending

Chowchilla Asphalt - Chowchilla, CA
Akira Hasegawa - (559) 223-6284
ahasegawa@jaxonaggregates.com

PG64-10, & PG64-16

None

Current

Delta Trading LP - Bakersfield, CA
Rob McElroy - (661) 834-5560
rmcelroy@deltatradinglp.com

PG64-10, & PG64-16

None

Current

Ergon Asphalt & Emulsions, Inc. - Las Vegas, NV
Michael Holst - (702) 736-2059
michael.holst@ergon.com

PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

PG64-28M, &
PG76-22M

Current

Ergon Asphalt & Emulsions, Inc. - Pittsburgh, CA
Albert Gray - (925) 427-6880
albert.gray@nustarenergy.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, PG64-28, & PG70-10

PG64-28M, &
PG76-22M

Current

Lunday Thagard Refinery - South Gate, CA
Gustavo Moreno - (562) 928-7000, Ext. 239
gmoreno@worldoil.net

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

PG64-28M

Current

Pacific Northwest Oil - Stockton, CA
Patrick Sendegeya - (209) 463-4762
patrick.sendegeya@pacificnorthwestoil.com

PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

PG64-28M, &
PG76-22M

Current

Paramount Petroleum - Bakersfield, CA
Brian Orr - (661) 392-3630
borr@ppcla.com

PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

PG64-28M

Current

Paramount Petroleum - Elk Grove, CA
Brian Orr - (916) 835-6366
borr@ppcla.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, PG64-28, & PG70-10

PG64-28M

Current

Paramount Petroleum - Fernley, NV
Kevin McKinney - (775) 835-6366
kmckinney@ppcla.com  

PG58-22, PG64-16, & PG64-28

PG64-28M

Current

Paramount Petroleum - Long Beach, CA
Steve Burhans - (562) 748-4713
sburhans@ppcla.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

None

Current

Paramount Petroleum - Paramount, CA
Steve Burhans - (562) 748-4713
sburhans@ppcla.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

PG58-34M,
PG64-28M, &
PG76-22M

Current

Paramount Petroleum - Phoenix, AZ
Mohammad Rahman - (602) 794-2528
mrahman@ppcla.com

PG70-10

PG64-28M

Current

San Joaquin Refining Co. - Bakersfield, CA
Don Powell - (661) 327-8248
donp@sjr.com

PG64-10, PG 64-16, & PG70-10

PG64-28M

Current

Santa Maria Refining Co. - Santa Maria, CA
Edgar Cifuentes - (805) 357-2996
edc@greka.com

PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

None

Current

SWT Group - Bakersfield, CA
Jonathan Dietzel - (519) 967-1523
jdietzel@swtgroup.com

PG64-10, & PG64-16

None

Current

Syar Industries - Pittsburgh, CA
Michael Herlax - (707) 259-5705
mherlax@syar.com

PG64-10, & PG64-16

None

Current

Valero Marketing & Supply - Benicia, CA
Brenda Mooney - (707) 745-7089
brenda.mooney@valero.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, PG64-28, & PG70-10

PG58-34M,
PG64-28M, &
PG76-22M

Current

Valero Marketing & Supply - Wilmington, CA
Eric Gauss - (310) 518-4000
eric.gauss@valero.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, PG64-16, & PG70-10

None

Current

VSS Emultech - West Sacramento, CA
Sallie Houston - (916) 397-8623
sallie.houston@slurry.com

PG64-10, & PG64-16

None

Current

Western Refining Co. - Phoenix, AZ
Sam Huddleston - (602) 286-1982
sam.huddleston@wnr.com

PG58-22, PG64-10, & PG64-16

None

Current

The files below are being made available to asphalt suppliers who are participating in the Caltrans Certification Program for Suppliers of Asphalt.  The files below describe the certification program, and acceptance testing criteria are listed in Section 92 of the Caltrans Standard Specifications.  If you have any questions about the information in these files, please call Albert Vasquez at (916) 227-7322.  Please note that Caltrans projects may require additional acceptance criteria or modifications to asphalt binder specifications for project acceptance testing.

  1. Caltrans Certification Program for Suppliers of Asphalt: Program Guidelines Document
  2. Caltrans Certification Program for Suppliers of Asphalt: Test Data Format for Submittal to Caltrans (Please submit data using a MS-Excel 2003 spread sheet, i.e., a “.xls” file format.)
  3. Caltrans Certification Program for Suppliers of Asphalt: Test ID Numbers for PG Asphalt Binders
  4. Caltrans Certification Program for Suppliers of Asphalt: Test ID Numbers for PG-M Asphalt Binders
  5. Caltrans Price List for Asphalt Testing

 

[Note:    Some of the Caltrans Test ID Numbers capture two test results rather than just one.  For those cases, the Test Data Format file now includes columns for “Test Result 1” and “Test Result 2.”]