California Department of Transportation - District 2

About Caltrans District 2

Caltrans has 12 districts.  We are District 2, with main offices in Redding, California. At 27,307 square miles, we're the second largest district (area) in the state.  Our District includes the counties of Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties. District 2 also services portions of Butte and Sierra Counties.

We are a rural district, with a population of 13 people per square mile, compared with 225 statewide. We maintain 1750 center line miles, or more than 4,000 lane miles, of highways. Our valleys, foothills, and mountain ranges border Oregon to the North, Nevada to the East, District 3 "Marysville" to the South, and District 1 "Eureka" to the West.  We have 19 Safety Roadside Rest Areas and 22 Maintenance Stations.

District 2 has over 850 employees in many locations spread throughout the district.  We have four district divisions, and several regional divisions, which have employees who are shared between Districts 1, 2, and 3.  The four district divisions are Administration, Maintenance & Traffic Operations, Planning & Local Assistance, and Program/Project Management.  Regional divisions include Construction, Environmental, Right of Way, and Surveys.

Statewide, Caltrans manages more than 50,000 miles of California's highway and freeway lanes, provides inter-city rail services, permits more than 400 public-use airports and special-use hospital heliports, and works with local agencies. Caltrans carries out its mission of improving mobility across California with six primary programs: Aeronautics, Highway Transportation, Mass Transportation, Transportation Planning, Administration and the Equipment Service Center. To read more about Caltrans at the statewide level, you can go to Caltrans headquarters About Caltrans page.

Mission Statement