California Department of Transportation District 11 ­ San Diego & Imperial Counties

District 11 Planning Division - California External Advisory Liaison (CEAL)

 

CEAL

The Caltrans External Advisory Liaison (CEAL) Committee was established in 1990 as a forum to discuss and monitor Caltrans products and services, engage our customers and improve the way we do business. CEAL meets quarterly for presentations and discussions that address a variety of topics including planning efforts, legislation, safety, regionally significant issues and ongoing projects.

The CEAL Committee is chaired by District Director Laurie Berman and includes a diverse roster of members serving San Diego and Imperial Counties.

 
 

CEAL Members Information

Agency
Representative Address Phone Fax/Email
Audubon Society
Jim Peugh,
Conservation Chair
2776 Nipoma St.
San Diego, CA 92106
(619) 224-4591

peugh@cox.net

Alternate: Mel Hinton
melhinton@sbcglobal.net
(858) 454-6550

Automobile Club of So. Ca.
Craig H. Scott,
Principal Transportation
Policy Specialist
Government Affairs & Public Policy
3333 Fairview Rd.
MS-A-131
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
(714) 885-2303 Fax: (714) 885-2331
scott.craig@aaa-calif.com
Confirm:
Alternate: Marianne Kim kim.marianne@aaa-calif.com
California Highway Patrol
Border Division
(State of CA)
Jim Abele,
Chief
9330 Farnham
San Diego, CA 92123
(858) 650-3700

Fax: (858) 637-7133
Alternate: Assistant Chief Esmeralda Falat
efalat@chp.ca.gov

California Trucking Assoc.
Armando Freire,
1st Vice President
9295 Siempre Viva Road, Suite F
San Diego, CA 92154
Cell:
(619) 954-9194

Fax: (619) 661-0115
afreire1969@gmail.com

Alternate:
Karen E. Ross-Gibbins
rtsb@rosstransportationservices.com
P.O. Box 40069, SD, CA, 92164
(619) 284-5320
(619) 742-5320
Fax: (877) 850-4664

City of
San Diego – Planning Department
Nancy Bragado,
Interim Deputy Director City Planning & Community Investment
202 “C” St,
4th Floor, MS-4A
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 533-4549

Fax (619) 533-5951
nsbragado@sandiego.gov

Keep on mailing list. Mary will monitor list and try to send someone as needed.

Alternate: Samir Hajjiri
shajjiri@sandiego.gov

Coastal Commission
(State of CA)
Deborah Lee,
District Manager
7575 Metropolitan Drive, Suite 103
San Diego CA 92108
(619) 767-2370

Fax: (619) 767-2384
dlee@coastal.ca.gov

Alternate: Gabe Buhr
gbuhr@coastal.ca.gov

COMPACT
(Community Planners Advisory Committee on Transportation)
Mario Ingrasci,
Chairman
4570 Patria Dr.
San Diego, CA 92108
(619) 229-0464
(619) 409-5476

Alt.’s phone:
(760) 534-4227
mingrasci@ci.chula-vista.ca.us

Alternate:
Morton Printz, Ph.D., Professor Dept. of Pharmacology 0636 La Jolla, CA 92093-0636 mprintz@ucsd.edu
Fax: (858) 534-0464
Customs and Border
Jaclyn Cooper,
Management & Program Analyst
610 Ash Street, Ste. 1200
San Diego CA 92101

(619) 652-9966 ext. 193

Cell: (619) 417-0761

Fax: (619) 645-6644
jaclyn.cooper@dhs.gov

Alternate: Toby Sosbee
Community Relations Officer
toby.sosbee@dhs.gov
(619) 652-9966 ext. 151

Economic Development Council
(San Diego North)
Carl Morgan 700 West Grand Avenue
Escondido CA 92025
(760) 294-2966 ext. 203
Cell:
(760) 519-1768
Fax: (760) 294-0126
cmorgan@sdnec.org
Environmental Health Coalition
Georgette Gomez,
Campaign Director
401 Mile of Cars Way, Suite 310
National City, CA 91950
(619) 474-0220 ext. 104 Fax: (619) 474-1210 georgetteG@environmentalhealth.org

Alternate: Diane Takvorian,
Exec. Dir. (Same #, Ext. 112) dianeT@environmentalhealth.org

EHC to remain an inactive participant of CEAL, but requests notifications of all info pertaining to CEAL

Fish & Wildlife Service, U.S.
Karen Goebel,
Assistant Field Supervisor
6010 Hidden Valley Rd.
Carlsbad, CA 92011
(760) 431-9440 ext. 296
Fax: (760) 431-9618
karen_goebel@fws.gov

Alternate: David Zoutendyk
David_Zoutendyk@fws.gov
(760) 431-9110, Ext. 222

2nd Alt: Sally Brown
(760) 431-9440, ext. 278 sally_brown@fws.gov

Kurt Roblek
kurt_roblek@fws.gov

Imperial County Transportation Committee
Mark Baza,
Executive Director
940 W. Main St., Suite 204
El Centro, CA 92243
(760) 482-4987

Fax: (760) 482-4740
markbaza@imperialctc.org

Alternate: Kathi Williams
(760) 482-4587

League of Women Voters (San Diego County)
Nan C. Valerio,
Regional Governance Chair
4932 Mt. Antero Drive
San Diego, CA 92111-3835
(858) 278-4185

navalerio@aol.com

Move San Diego
Elyse Lowe,
Executive Director
P.O. Box 87588
San Diego, CA 92138
(619) 702-4266

elowe@movesandiego.org

San Diego Association of Governments
(SANDAG)
Muggs Stoll,
Director of Mobility Management & Project Implementation
401 B Street,
Suite 800
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 699-6945 Fax: (619) 699-1905
mst@sandag.org

Alternate: Elisa Arias
ear@sandag.org
San Diego Chamber of Commerce
VACANT/Leah Hemze
Public Policy Director
402 W. Broadway,
Suite 1000
San Diego, CA 92101-3585
(619) 544-1316 Fax: (619) 744-7416
San Diego County Bicycle Coalition
(SD County)
Andy Hanshaw,
Executive Director
P.O. Box 34544
San Diego, CA 92163
(858) 487-6063 Fax: *(425) 940-8984
execdir@sdcbc.org
*425 – goes directly to computer

San Diego State University (SDSU)

Tere Mendoza,
Vice President of University Advancement
5500 Campanile Dr.
San Diego, CA 92182-8030
(619) 594-4562
tmendoza@mail.sdsu.edu
Fax: (619) 594-0832
Keep on mailing list and send to both Tere and her assistant: Nancy Smith, nsmith@mail.sdsu.edu
San Diego State University (SDSU)
Dr. Janusz C. Supernak,
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Professor and Chair
5500 Campanile Dr., E-424A
San Diego, CA 92182-8010
(619) 594-6378 Fax: (619) 594-1443

supernak@mail.sdsu.edu
SD Unified Port District
Wayne Darbeau,
President & CEO
3165 Pacific Highway
San Diego, CA 92101

(619) 686-6201

Fax: (619) 686-6547
wdarbeau@portofsandiego.org

Alternates: Shahriar Afshar,
Director, Gov't & Community Relations
safshar@portofsandiego.org
(619) 686-6288
Fax:  (619) 686-6297

Irene McCormack, VP of External Relations, imccorma@portofsandiego
(619) 686-6462
Fax: (619) 686-6547
Dirk Mathiasen, Sr. Policy Advisor
dmathias@portofsandiego.org

Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG)
Tomas Oliva,
Regional Affairs Officer
1450 North Imperial Avenue, Ste 1
El Centro CA 92243

(760) 353-7800

Fax: (760) 353-1877
oliva@scag.ca.gov
Southern California Tribal Chairman's Association
La Vonne Peck,
La Jolla Tribal Chair
220000 Hwy 76
Pauma Valley, CA 92061

(760) 742-3771

Cell: (760) 533-4005

Fax: (760) 742-1704

lavonne.peck@lajolla-nsn.gov

UCSD
Brad Werdick,
Director, Community Planning

MA address:
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0074

(858) 534-5782 Fax: (858) 822-5990 bwerdick@ucsd.edu
(Milt serves on behalf of Dean Frieder Seible of UCSD)

Back to CEAL home page

If you have questions regarding CEAL or need more information, please contact:

Roy Abboud
Associate Transporation Planner
619-688-6968
Email : roy.abboud@dot.ca.gov