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21200 Every person riding a bicycle upon a highway 

has all rights and is subject to all the provisions
applicable to the driver of a vehicle.  

21200.5 It is unlawful for any person to ride a bicycle 
upon a highway while under the influence of an 
alcoholic beverage or any drug.  

21201 Bicycles must be equipped with a brake able to 
make one braked wheel skid on dry, level 
pavement.  
 
Handlebars must not be higher than the rider‛s 
shoulders.  
 
The bicycle must be small enough for the rider 
to stop, support it with a foot on the ground, 
and restart safely. 
 
Every bicycle operated at night must have the  
following equipment:  

• A lamp emitting white light and visible 
for 300 feet to the front and sides of 
the bicycle.  May be attached to the 
bicycle or the rider. 

• A red rear reflector, which shall be 
visible from a distance of 500 feet to
the rear. 

• White or yellow reflector on each 
pedal visible from the front and rear 
of the bicycle from a distance of 200 
feet. 

• A white or yellow side reflector on the 
front portion of the bicycle and a 
white or red reflector on the rear 
portion of the bicycle or reflectorized
tires. 

21202 Bicycles traveling less than the normal speed of 
traffic must ride as close to the right as 
practicable, except in the following situations:  

• When passing another bicycle or 
vehicle.  

• When preparing for a left turn. 
• To avoid hazards that make it unsafe 

to stay to the right. 
• When approaching a place where a 

right turn is authorized. 
On one-way streets, bicyclists may ride as near
the left as practicable. 

 

This is a summary of bicycle provisions of the California
Vehicle Code.  Readers should check the Vehicle Codes
for more detailed information and actual wording.   
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21303 Bicyclists may not attach the bicycle or 
themselves to any streetcar or vehicle on the 
roadway.  

21404 Bicycle must have a permanent seat.  
 
Passengers must have a separate seat.  
Passengers 4 years old and younger, or 
weighing 40 pounds or less, must have 
protection from moving parts, and wear a 
helmet meeting ANSI or SNELL standards.  

21205 Bicyclists may not carry any package or article 
that prevents them from keeping at least one 
hand on the handlebars.  

21208 Whenever a bicycle lane has been established 
on a roadway, a bicyclist shall ride within that 
lane.  The bicyclist may move out of the lane 
when:  

1.  Overtaking and passing another 
bicycle, vehicle or pedestrian within 
the lane.  

2. Preparing for a left turn at an 
intersection or private road or 
driveway.  

3. Reasonably necessary to avoid 
debris or other hazardous conditions.  

4. Approaching a place where a right 
turn is authorized.  

21210 It is illegal to leave a bicycle on its side on a 
sidewalk, or park it in any way that blocks 
pedestrian traffic. 

21212 Any persons 17 years of age or younger 
must wear a helmet meeting ANSI or SNELL 
standards when operating a bicycle.  

21650.1  Bicyclist must ride in the same direction as the 
flow of traffic. 

21960 Bicyclist may not ride on freeways where signs 
prohibit it. 

27400 Bicyclist may not wear earplugs in both ears or
a headset covering both ears.  This section 
does not apply to hearing aids.  

BIKE LAWS CONT.

For more information on California's Bike Laws, 
please visit the following website:
www.dmv.ca.gov/about/bicycle.htm


