California Department of Transportation

Welcome to the Highway 1 Big Sur Coast Highway Management Plan

Highway 1 at Big SurBig Sur Coast Highway Management Plan logo


Stakeholders for the Big Sur CHMP are those who have an interest in the outcome of management practices along the Highway 1 corridor. To date, over 60 stakeholders have been identified. If you see that we have missed a key stakeholder group, or if you would like to be added to the mailing list, please contact us.

Stakeholders Involved in Developing the Coast Highway Management Plan

Federal Agencies
Federal Highway Administration
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary*
US Army Corps of Engineers
US Department of Agriculture
Natural Resource Conservation Service
Forest Service*
US Environmental Protection Agency
US Fish and Wildlife Service
US Geological Survey
US National Marine Fisheries Service

State Agencies
CA Coastal Commission*
CA Department of Transportation (Caltrans)*
CA Department of Fish and Game
CA Department of Forestry
CA Department of Parks and Recreation*
CA Highway Patrol
CA Regional Water Quality Control Board
CA Trade and Commerce
State Lands Commission

Regional / Local Agencies
Association of Monterey Bay Area Governments*
Monterey County
Office of Emergency Services
Planning and Building Inspection Department*
Resource Conservation District
Sheriff's Department
Monterey Regional Parks District
Transportation Agency for Monterey County
San Luis Obispo
Cambria Community Services District
County of San Luis Obispo Planning Department
San Luis Obispo Council of Governments
San Simeon Community Services District

Community / Non-Governmental Organizations
Big Creek Reserve
Big Sur Chamber of Commerce*
Big Sur Historical Society
Big Sur Land Trust
Big Sur Land Use Advisory Committee*
Big Sur Multi-Agency Advisory Council*
Boy Scouts of America
California Native Plant Society
Cambria Chamber of Commerce
Cambria Legal Defense Fund
Carmel Highlands Community
Center for Marine Conservation
Coast Property Owners Association*
Coast Watch*
League of Women Voters
Monterey County Convention and Visitor's Bureau*
Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
North Coast Advisory Council (San Luis Obispo County)
North Coast Alliance (San Luis Obispo County)
Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen's Association
Palo Colorado Community
Red Cross
Responsible Consumers of the Monterey Peninsula
Robinson Jeffers Foundation
San Luis Obispo Land Conservancy
San Simeon Chamber of Commerce
Save our Shores
Sierra Club Santa Lucia Chapter
Sierra Club Ventana Chapter
South Coast Advisory Committee*
The Nature Conservancy
Ventana Wilderness Sanctuary

Special Districts & Utilities
Carmel Unified School District
Monterey Salinas Transit
Big Sur Fire Brigade
Mid Coast Fire
Pacific Bell
Pacific Valley Unified School District

Elected Officials
Congressman Sam Farr, US Congress, 17th District*
Congresswoman Lois Capp, US Congress, 22nd District
Assemblyman Fred Keeley, CA State Assembly, 27th District*
Assemblyman Abel Maldonado, CA State Assembly, 33rd District
Senator Bruce McPherson, CA State Senate, 15th District*
Senator Jack O' Connell, CA State Senate, 18th District
Supervisor Dave Potter, Monterey County, District 5*
Supervisor Shirley Bianchi, San Luis Obispo County, District 2

Large Private Landowners
El Sur Ranch
Hearst Corporation
Rancho San Simeon

Public Interest
Concerned Citizens
Business Owners

* = Stakeholder is a member of the Big Sur Coast Highway Plan Steering Committee
Last updated: July 24, 2007