Skip to Main Content
Caltrans InfoEdge

Caltrans Media Advisory

District 11

Monday, May 9, 2016

Contact: Edward Cartagena, (619) 688-6670

Media Advisory

2016 Highway Workers Memorial Day – San Diego

WHO:           Caltrans District 11 Director Laurie Berman, Caltrans Deputy Director of Maintenance and Operations Steve Takigawa, Caltrans Deputy District Director of Construction and Land Surveys Amer Bata, Caltrans District Division Chief of Maintenance Everett Townsend and California Highway Patrol Chief Jim Abele.

WHAT:         Caltrans and CHP will pay tribute to the men and women highway workers who have died in the line of duty during the annual Caltrans Highway Workers Memorial Day ceremony.

WHEN:         Tuesday, May 10, at 9 a.m.

WHERE:       Caltrans District Office
4050 Taylor Street, San Diego, CA


A memorial display of 184 orange safety cones with the names of each of the Caltrans workers killed in the line of duty statewide since 1921. Of the 184 cones, 19 will signify those Caltrans employees who lost their lives while working on highways in San Diego and Imperial counties, including Bridge Engineer Oscar Vargas who died last year.

# # # #

Be Alert Our Dad's at Work