SHSP - Be Involved!

The SHSP Update is an opportunity for safety stakeholders to work together to improve highway safety.  Federal regulations also require alignment with other plans including the California Transportation Plan, the California Freight Plan, the Highway Safety Improvement Program, and other plans.

There are many opportunities to be part of the process.  The Steering Committee shapes the direction of the SHSP and provides guidance to Challenge/Emphasis Area teams.  Challenge/Emphasis Area teams each handle a specific area of highway safety, such as Pedestrian Safety or reducing young driver fatalities.  Organizations can request to place a representative on the Steering Committee, organizations and individuals can be part of a Challenge/Emphasis Area team.

SHSP Co-Lead: Department: Email: Challenge Area:
Matt McKee CHP Mmckee@chp.ca.gov Aging Road Users
Sandra Carter DMV sandra.carter@dmv.ca.gov Aging Road Users
Jim Baross California Association of Bicycling Organizations JimBaross@cox.net Bicycles
Paul Moore Caltrans paul.moore@dot.ca.gov Bicycles
Raj Chharan Caltrans raj.chharan@dot.ca.gov Commercial Vehicles
Sgt. Jason Blankenship CHP Pblankenship@chp.ca.gov Commercial Vehicles
Lt. Brad Hofflander CHP BDHofflander@chp.ca.gov Commercial Vehicles
John Ensch Caltrans john.ensch@dot.ca.gov Data Technical Advisory Team
Bill Ehart OTS bill.ehart@ots.ca.gov Data Technical Advisory Team
Sgt. Jeremy Wayland CHP jwayland@chp.ca.gov Distracted Driving
Wayne Ziese OTS wayne.ziese@ots.ca.gov Distracted Driving
Bonnie Sinz California State EMS Authority bonnie.sinz@emsa.ca.gov EMS
Sgt. Jeff Page CHP jpage@chp.ca.gov EMS
Kathy Bissell EMSA kathy.bissell-benabides@emsa.ca.gov EMS
Eric Jones CHP eric.jones@chp.ca.gov Impaired Driving
Patrice Rogers DMV Progers@dmv.ca.gov Impaired Driving
Jerry Champa Caltrans jerry.champa@dot.ca.gov Intersections, Interchanges and Other Roadway Access
Firoz Vohra San Joaquin County of Public Works fvohra@sjgov.org Intersections, Interchanges and Other Roadway Access
Bayliss Camp DMV bcamp@dmv.ca.gov Licensing
Officer Jamie Nunez CHP jamie.nunez@chp.ca.gov Licensing
Larry Starkey CHP Lstarkey@chp.ca.gov Motorcycles
Richard Amaro DMV richard.amaro@dmv.ca.gov Motorcycles
Jim DeCarli Public Behavior Solutions neuroepidr@gmail.com Occupant Protection
Donna Black OTS donna.black@ots.ca.gov Occupant Protection
Lisa Dixon CHP lisa.dixon@chp.ca.gov Pedestrians
Jim Owens OTS jim.owens@ots.ca.gov Pedestrians
Rachel Carpenter Caltrans rachel.carpenter@dot.ca.gov Pedestrians
Roert Peterson Caltrans robert.peterson@dot.ca.gov Roadway Departure
Richard Tippett Trinity County Department of Transportation rtippett@trinitycounty.org Roadway Departure
Joe Rouse Caltrans joe.rouse@dot.ca.gov Speeding and Aggressive Driving
Sgt. Scott Taylor CHP ScTaylor@chp.ca.gov Speeding and Aggressive Driving
Jeff Shewmaker Lindsay Transportation Solutions jeff.shewmaker@lindsay.com Work Zones
Arshad Iqbal Caltrans arshad.iqbal@dot.ca.gov Work Zones
Matt McKee CHP Mmckee@chp.ca.gov Young Drivers
TBD     Young Drivers
Mark Talan OTS mark.talan@ots.ca.gov Young Drivers

For more information, contact:
SHSP Program Manager

Gretchen Chavez
(916) 654-6101
SHSP@dot.ca.gov

Contact Information

Caltrans Logo

Translate.