California Department of Transportation

 

Drilling Services

The Drilling Services Branch provides statewide drilling services for Geotechnical Services (GS) and other Departmental functions such as Construction and Maintenance. DS operates standard and specialized equipment to handle the many unique and challenging investigations required to support the Department's mission. Drilling equipment is stored at multiple locations across the State to better serve clients and for quick response to emergencies.

OFFICE CHIEF

Doug Brittsan
Phone: (916) 227-7004
E-mail: Douglas.Brittsan@dot.ca.gov

BRANCH CHIEFS

Scheduling, Contracts

Mark Richards

(916) 227-5448

Mark.Richards@dot.ca.gov

Materials, Warehouse, Equipment, Safety

David Thomas

(916) 227-5450

David.J.Thomas@dot.ca.gov

FOUNDATION DRILLER CONTACTS

Scheduling

Wade Taylor

(916) 227-4420

Wade.Taylor@dot.ca.gov

Equipment

Michael Santos

(916) 227-5446

Michael.Santos@dot.ca.gov

Purchasing

Carl Boling

(916) 227-5442

Carl.Boling@dot.ca.gov

Mud Disposal

Norman Webb

(209) 371-7433

Norman.Webb@dot.ca.gov

Inventory

Jack Eaton

(916) 947-3540

Jack.Eaton@dot.ca.gov

Work Requests

Request work in accordance with the Geotechnical Manual, Geotechnical Drilling Module. The Drilling Request, Site Safety Plan, and Site Assessment Questionnaire forms are available here.

Submit all work request documents to drill.requests@dot.ca.gov.


Code of Safe Drilling Practices

Local Enforcement Agency (LEA) List - August 2015

 

Services Available

  • Drilling methods including:
    • Wire line (94 mm)
    • Auger
    • Conventional open hole
    • Drive or push systems
  • Boring depths to 1,000 ft.
  • Boring diameters from 4 to 10 inches.
  • Core diameters from 1.5 to 2.5 inches.
  • Soil sample diameters from 1 to 3 ¾ inches.
  • Sampling methods including:
    • Punchcore
    • Standard Penetration Test (SPT)
    • Shelby tubes
    • Lexan tubes
    • Brass tubes (2" or 2 ½")
  • Instrument installations including:
    • Slope inclinometer casing
    • TDR cable
    • Piezometers
  • Monument setting.
  • Borehole sealing