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This membrandum should be forwarded to:

-‘Accounting Officers
Emplovee Relations Offigare
Travel and Relocation Liaisons

FROM: Department of Personnel Admlnlstratlon
Labor Relations Division

CONTACT: Jacquelvn Sanders, Principal Labor Relations Officer
(916) 445-9244
Fax: (916) 322-0765
Email: jacquelynsanders@dpa.ca.gov

This memo describes the amount the State will pav toward 2010 State Bar membership aues.
and related provisions. The State Bar’s deadline for payment of 2010 membership dues is
March 1, 2010.

1. How much of the 2010 dues will the State pay for?

Departments are required to pay $400 of the 2010 State Bar membership fee of $410 for
emplovees in Bargaining Unit 2 and affiliated excluded emplovees if State Bar membership is
required as a condition of employment.

The State does not pay:

e The $10 portion that funds the State Bar’s lobbying efforts or communications with
voluntary bar associations;

e Optional donations to the Conference of Delegates of California Bar Associations,
Foundation of the State Bar, or the California Supreme Court Historical Society; nor

» Penalties resulting from late pavment of dues. unless the State is responsible for the late
navment ‘

For emplovees who work less than full time, or less than one year, your department may prorate
the reimbursement.
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Z. Will the State pay local or specialty bar dues?

In addition to the State bar dues described above, the State will pay up to $100 annually for job-
related local or specialty bar dues, if State Bar membership is required as a condition of
employment. The employee may be reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as long
as the total reimbursement does not exceed $100.

Excluded employees may be reimbursed for job—rélated local or specialty bar dues at the

discretion of your department. In such cases, your department also determines the
reimbursable amount. The amount is prorated for employees working less than full time.

3. What if State Bar membership is not required as a condition of employment?

For rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 who are not required to be members of the
State Bar as a condition of employment, your department may provide one of the following:

a. Reimbursement of the $400 portion of State Bar dues described in Question 1 (the
reimbursable amount for an _“inactive” membership would be $125); or

b. Two days of proféssional leave per calendar year without loss of compensation.

ption “a” is available only for emplovees who are ‘eligible to be State Bar members. Unit 2
employees who are not attorneys are entitled to option “b” only.

Your department may prorate professional leave for employees who work less than full time
and/or less than a full year.

‘Professional leave must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or annual

leave. Professional leave credit shall not carry over from year to year.
4. What are the methods of reimbursing or paying bar dues?

Direct payment: Your department may pay membership fees directly to the State Bar,
following the procedures outlined below. However, use the reimbursement method (described
below), not direct payment, for employees choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized on lines
19-23 of the membership dues statement).

a. No later than February 8, 2010 (which is three weeks before the March 1 pavmen:
deadline), employees must provide the original remittance (coupon) portion of their
membership dues statement to the person designated by your department to handie
payment of bar dues. Lines 19 and 20 must show “0” to indicate that no optional
payments are included, and line 21 (“lobbying”) and line 22 (“bar relations and
elimination of bias”) must show that $5 has been deducted for each of these items.
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b. Prepare a list of employees for whom the department is paying State Bar dues, batch
the coupons, and prepare one check for dues and section fees, payable to “California
State Bar.” Send the check, hst and batched coupons together in one envelope
addressed to:

State Bar of California

Attention: Membership Services
180 Howard Street

San Francisco, CA 94105-1639

c. If vour department receives an employee’'s membership dues statement after Feprugs
8, 2010, the department still has the option to pay the dues directly, or it may reimburse
the employee, as described below.

Reimbursement: Your department may reimburse individual employees. Employees who
request reimbursement must include proof of payment, a copy of their annual membership dues
statement, and a copy of their membership card.

5. Are excluded employees entitled to other reimbursement?

In addition to any bar or specialty dues described above, excluded employees are entitled to
reimbursement for up to $100 annually for membership dues of a professional organization or
for a job-related professional license fee that is directly related to the emplioyee’s professional
discipline.

6. Where can | find more information on this topic?

The information in this memo is based in part on Article 13.7 of the 2005-2007 Bargaining Unit 2
contract and Title 2, sections 599.921 of the California Code of Regulations.

If you have further questions, please contact Jacquelyn Sanders at the number or email listed at
the top of this memo.

/s/Julie Chapman

Julie Chapman .
Chief Deputy Director of Policy
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