Environmental Management Office (EMO)

Promoting environmental stewardship in transportation projects and creating efficiencies in project delivery by providing policy, guidance, and support.

Preamble to the National Environmental Policy Act

The Environmental Management Office (EMO) is responsible for developing environmental policy recommendations for the Division of Environmental Analysis (DEA) on a wide variety of issues, including development and maintenance of the Standard Environmental Reference (SER). We work closely with the Headquarters Environmental Coordinators and are the "go to" group for policy and procedure development for National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) environmental documents. We are "advocates" for the Environmental Planners/Generalists in the Districts and serve as the primary environmental contact for California Transportation Commission (CTC) submittals; climate change policy and guidance; and the Caltrans Coastal Program.

EMO works with other Caltrans offices, divisions, and outside agencies to develop innovative approaches to project delivery while safeguarding the environment.

Environmental Management Office (EMO)

Contact Information

Jennifer Heichel, Office Chief
Brenda Powell-Jones, Senior Environmental Planner
Chris Kuzak, Senior Environmental Planner
Jennifer Clark, Senior Environmental Planner
Neil Peacock, Senior Environmental Planner
Peter Bond, Senior Environmental Planner
Scott Williams, Senior Environmental Planner

For questions regarding the EMO - Caltrans Division of Environmental Analysis web page, contact the webmaster.

Caltrans Logo