California Department of Transportation - District 2

Native American Connection

Tribal Transportation Needs Assessment Fact Sheet

Caltrans District 2 is made up of nine North State Counties: Shasta, Siskiyou, Modoc, Lassen, Tehama, Trinity, Plumas, Butte & Sierra. Within these counties, District 2's Tribal community consists of ten federally recognized tribes and thirteen non-federally recognized tribes. District 2 has many projects within Tribal lands and ancestral boundaries and strives to facilitate and maintain effective working relationships with its Tribal community. Two permanent Caltrans positions have been established to foster relationships with the Tribal community. This page has been developed to facilitate communication and exchange of information.

District 2 Native American Liaison is the first point of contact between the Department, Tribal Government and other involved parties to promote government- to-government relationships.

Native American Liaison   Alternate- Native American Liaison

Kendee Vance
Transportation Engineering Technician,
District 2 Native American Liaison
Office of Advance Planning
1657 Riverside Drive MS-4
Redding, CA 96049-6073
(530) 225-3574 (office)
(530) 225-3578 (fax)


Tom Balkow
(Acting) Deputy District Director
Planning and Local Assistance
1657 Riverside Drive MS-1
Redding, CA 96049-6073
(530) 225-2564

Memorandum of Understanding Winnemem MOU [pdf] | Pit River MOU [pdf | Karuk MOU [pdf]