Surface Mining and Reclamation Act

Share via:


Caltrans design guidance
Sustainable Design

Sustainable design balances social, environmental, and economic resources.

Introduction

The Surface Mining and Reclamation Act of 1975 (SMARA, Public Resources Code, Sections 2710-2796) provides a comprehensive surface mining and reclamation policy with the regulation of surface mining operations to assure that adverse environmental impacts are minimized and mined lands are reclaimed to a usable condition.  SMARA also encourages the production, conservation, and protection of the state’s mineral resources. For general information about SMARA, please visit the California Department of Conservation, Office of Mine Reclamation (OMR) website.

A detailed list of the SMARA sites can be found at the Department of Conservation Office of Mine Reclamation SMARA websiteand California Geological Survey.

Active SMARA Sites With Caltrans as Operator

DISTRICT 2

Madeline Pit  Mine #91-18-0027          Lassen County
Grasshopper Rd Mine #91-18-0016          Lassen County

DISTRICT 8

Newberry Borrow Pit Mine #91-36-0077          San Bernardino County

DISTRICT 9

Shoshone Pit Mine #91-14-0038          Inyo County
New Death Valley Junction Mine #91-14-0046          Inyo County
Cottonwood Mine #91-14-0050          Inyo County
Keeler  Mine #91-14-0051          Inyo County

DISTRICT 11

Coyote Pit Mine #91-13-0046          Imperial County
Ocotillo Pit Mine #91-13-0052          Imperial County

 

SMARA - District Contacts

Brett Johnson, District 1
1656 Union Street
Eureka, CA 95501 
(707) 441-2014 
brett.l.johnson@dot.ca.gov
Kirsten Stahl, District 7
100 South Main Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 897-0470
kirsten.stahl@dot.ca.gov
Robert Ybright, District 2
1657 Riverside Dr., MS #17
Redding, CA 96001
(530) 225-2084
robert.ybright@dot.ca.gov
Khalid Khan, District 8
464 W. Fourth Street
San Bernardino, CA 92401-1400
(909) 806-3988
khalid.khan@dot.ca.gov
District 3
703 B Street (P.O. Box 911)
Marysville, CA 95901

Forest Becket, District 9
500 South Main Street
Bishop, CA 93514
(760) 872-0681
forest.becket@dot.ca.gov
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Doug Lambert, District 10
1352 W. Olive Street
Fresno, CA 93728
(559) 445-6831
doug.lambert@dot.ca.gov
Doug Lambert, District 5
1352 W. Olive Street
Fresno, CA 93728
(559) 445-6831
doug.lambert@dot.ca.gov
Shawn Rizzutto, District 11
4050 Taylor Street
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 718-7810
Shawn.Rizzutto@dot.ca.gov
Doug Lambert, District 6
1352 W. Olive Street
Fresno, CA 93728
(559) 445-6831
doug.lambert@dot.ca.gov
Frank Mai, District 12
19601 Beach Blvd.
Huntington Beach, CA
(949) 279-8846
frank.mai@dot.ca.gov
   

 

SMARA - Headquarters Contact

John Wong
Division of Design, Landscape Architecture Program
1120 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-5505
Chi.Wong@dot.ca.gov

 

Updated August 31, 2017