Contact Caltrans District 9

Share via:


Contact District 9

Caltrans District 9 Office

Caltrans District 9 Office serves Inyo, Mono, and Eastern Kern counties.

ADDRESS:
500 South Main St
Bishop, CA 93514-3423

GENERAL INFORMATION:
(760) 872-0601

FAX:
(760) 872-0678

DEPARTMENT CONTACTS:



 


Working With Caltrans On Local Issues

For information regarding Caltrans contact the Public Information Officer, Florene Trainor at 760-872-0603. Or email: Florene.Trainor@dot.ca.gov.

Depending on the issue, you may wish to ask for the District Traffic Engineer or the Planning representative.  If the issue is still in the conceptual stage contact our Regional Planner.  If the issue concerns encroachment permits contact the Encroachment Permit Engineer.  If it’s a commercial or developer proposal/issue contact the Local Lead Agency (i.e. County or City Planning Department) who will work with Caltrans’ Local Development Review (LDR) coordinator in Planning.

  • Terry Erlwein, Traffic Operations Engineer   (760) 872-0650,   Email: Terry.Erlwein@dot.ca.gov
  • Stephen Winzenread, Encroachment Permit Engineer   (760) 872-5222,   Email: Stephen.Winzenread@dot.ca.gov
  • Gayle Rosander, LDR Coordinator   (760) 872-0785,   Email: Gayle.Rosander@dot.ca.gov
  • Mark Heckman, Regional Planning    (760) 872-2331,   Email: Mark.Heckman@dot.ca.gov

If inquiries relate to a Caltrans project already under development (i.e., in environmental, design, or construction stage), you should ask for the Project Delivery Manager.

  • Brian McElwain, Project Manager   (760) 872-4361,   Email: Brian.Mcelwain@dot.ca.gov
  • Dennee Alcala, Project Manager    (760) 872-1398,   Email: Dennee.Alcala@dot.ca.gov

If inquiries relate to local projects or the Active Transportation Program, contact Local Assistance.

  • Forest Becket, Local Assistance Office Chief   (760) 872-0681,   Email: Forest.Becket@dot.ca.gov

We suggest that interest groups involve their City, County, or Local Transportation Commission Officials, perhaps prior to involving Caltrans, depending on the issue. If your City Council member or County Supervisor shares your concern, there will be a stronger basis for pursuing a project.

Agencies and interest groups should involve Caltrans early in any planning efforts that could result in proposals to change the State highway.   It’s better to involve Caltrans at the “problem identification stage” rather than after, at the “solutions stage.”  Caltrans can help further define the problem, and identify and evaluate alternative solutions.  The right solution in one deficiency is often not the same for another.

You should recognize that in November 2001, Caltrans adopted a policy on “Context Sensitive Solutions” which emphasizes the need to use flexibility in reaching the right solution within context of a given setting.

It is critical that broad consensus be reached on solutions that affect a community to assure they are best for the whole community.  This should be sought cooperatively by local agencies and Caltrans.  Projects need to be consistent with long-term community visions and transportation plans.

In assessing the viability of options, early consideration must be given to: source of funding; responsibility for construction and maintenance; ease of maintenance; transit needs; impacts on other affected routes; and impacts on safety and traffic operations.  Caltrans is especially interested in opportunities to improve safety on State highways; with emphasis given to issues involving pedestrians, bicycles, and the disabled.

It is important to us that you receive quality service.  If you don’t get the attention you deserve, you may wish to contact the Caltrans District 9 Director, or one of his Deputies:

  • Brent Green, District 9 Director   (760) 872-0602,   Email: Brent.Green@dot.ca.gov
  • Bryan Winzenread, Deputy District Director Project Delivery Management   (760) 872-3143,   Email: Bryan.Winzenread@dot.ca.gov
  • Craig Holste, Deputy District Director Maintenance and Operations   (760) 872-0670,   Email: Craig.Holste@dot.ca.gov
  • Suzi Carter, Deputy District Director Administration   (760) 872-0680,   Email: Suzi.Carter@dot.ca.gov
  • Ryan Dermody, Deputy District Director Planning, Modal Programs and Local Assistance   (760) 872-0691,   Email: Ryan.Dermody@dot.ca.gov

Statewide Alerts and Other Information


News

Contact Information

General Information:

Phone: (760) 872-0601
FAX: (760) 872-0678

Physical Address:

California Department of Transportation
District 9
500 S. Main Street
Bishop, CA 93514

Caltrans Logo

Translate.