2016 Outstanding Management and Engineering in Transportation Award Winners

Share via:

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Outstanding Management and Engineering in Transportation Awards. These awards recognize Caltrans registered engineers’ and engineering and non-engineering managers’ valued contributions to the field of transportation.

The Karl Moskowitz Award

David Wells

David J. Wells, Senior Transportation Electrical Engineer (Specialist)
Division of Traffic Operations

David has made a tremendous difference in advancing Caltrans’ changeable message signs and ramp metering system technology. By controlling traffic and providing timely and useful information to the traveling public, these systems serve an essential role in the Department’s system management and operational strategies, which translates to a better performing transportation system for the traveling public. David’s invaluable advancements for the changeable message signs and ramp metering systems help improve the health, operability, and equipment workability of the Department’s ITS infrastructure that includes more than 800 changeable message signs and 2,800 ramp meters.

The Charles H. Purcell Award

Scott McGowen

Scott McGowen, Chief Environmental Engineer, Stormwater Management Program
Division of Environmental Analysis

Scott, a 32-year Caltrans veteran, was Caltrans’ Chief Environmental Engineer and head of Caltrans’ Environmental Engineering Offices, including two offices for the Stormwater Management Program. Scott led the statewide Stormwater Management Program in its ongoing efforts to maintain and improve water quality. Under Scott’s leadership, Caltrans’ Stormwater Management Program won the National Environmental Protection Agency’s 2007 Clean Water Act Award, the ASCE Region 9 Environmental Project of the Year, and the “Don’t Trash California” campaign. Scott also initiated development of an innovative web-established tracking and database tool for Stormwater management and established a Cooperative Implementation Agreement Program with other stakeholders.

The Emerson Rhyner Award

Kristina Assouri

Kristina Assouri, Deputy Attorney IV
Legal Division, HQ

Kristina has established herself as Caltrans’ legal expert on innovative contracting. Responding to the ever-increasing need to deliver quality transportation improvement projects in less time and reduced costs, Kristina has led the Department’s transition to more innovative contracting methods such as public-private partnerships, design-build, and construction manager/general contractor as viable alternatives to the conventional design-bid-build method of contracting. Kristina has modeled the way for successfully developing and implementing innovative contracting processes that challenge the way Caltrans has historically done business. Caltrans has earned multiple national awards under Kristina’s leadership and guidance.

The James E. Roberts Award

Mark Yashinsky

Mark Yashinsky, Senior Bridge Engineer
Division of Engineering Services

Mark has spent 32 years as a Caltrans bridge engineer, with 27 years in the Office of Earthquake Engineering. He plays a major role in developing and implementing seismic policies and procedures, and he is highly regarded for his sustained and outstanding contributions to bridge earthquake engineering. Mark can meld complex findings from seismic research and lessons learned from earthquakes into concise easy-to-understand guidance for California bridge engineers, and he receives ongoing requests from other states and countries to teach earthquake engineering. He has taught workshops in several U.S. states and countries in Latin and South America, Asia, and Europe.

Statewide Alerts and Other Information

Contact Information

Physical Address:

California Department of Transportation
1120 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

Mailing Address:

California Department of Transportation
1120 N Street
MS 49
Sacramento, CA 95814

General Information:

Phone: (916) 653-8879
Fax: (916) 654-4358
TTY: (916) 653-4086

Public Information Contacts

Caltrans Logo